Today is not that day.

Last year, August 16 to be exact, I tore up my knee while on vacation. The next morning, I woke up before everyone else, leg propped on a rolled up sleeping bag, swollen and throbbing. Lying there, I picked up my phone and read through the Facebook updates from overnight. Having registered to run in the Rock ‘n’ Roll half-marathon for September, I was receiving their updates. That morning, they posted this…

001

I cried.

I had no idea the extent of my injury. All I knew is that my knee was the size of a melon and I needed my friends’ help to limp across the room. Before that moment I’m not sure I realized how important running had become to me.

Fast forward through diagnosis, surgery and physical therapy. I became determined. I was not yet done with running.

Today I ran my first half marathon.  Thirteen point one miles in two hours and forty-two minutes by my clock.  I am exhausted and sore and thirsty and hungry, but I’m also excited and proud.  A year ago I was on crutches. Today I ran – a lot!

There will indeed be a day when I can no longer run, but Today is NOT that day.

IMG_2042

IMG_2047

IMG_2049

Leave a comment